What We Do

The Center for Economic Growth (CEG) is a regional nonprofit economic development organization that serves as the primary point of contact for businesses looking to locate or expand in Albany/New York’s eight-county Capital Region. CEG also houses the region’s Manufacturing Extension Partnership, which means we have state and federal designation and funding to help our region’s manufacturers and technology companies grow.

Whether you are looking for incentives, real estate or comprehensive demographic and business climate information, in need of entrepreneurship or workforce training services, or want to relocate or expand anywhere in the Capital Region, CEG knows the way.



Since its founding in 1987, CEG has been dedicated to driving economic growth in Albany/New York’s eight-county, 1.1-million-person Capital Region. As the nonprofit regional economic development organization, we do this by attracting investment and talent; growing manufacturing and workforce capabilities, leveraging industry clusters, and developing the entrepreneurial ecosystem. We serve as a catalyst and work with partners and stakeholders to prepare the region to compete and move high-impact strategies and projects forward.


An affiliate of the Capital Region Chamber, CEG’s work, and vision is supported by more than 250 investors in business, government, higher education, and the nonprofit sectors who are committed to sustainable economic growth and shared prosperity. Our New York Manufacturing Extension Partnership (MEP) program is supported by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and New York Empire State Development Division of Science, Technology and Innovation (NYSTAR).


Connect with us: 518.465.8975

Mark Eagan
President & CEO
marke@ceg.org | 518.431.1424

Tom Bell
Project Director, Technology Services – Business Growth Solutions
Manufacturing Extension Partnership – Capital Region
tomb@ceg.org | 518.431.1484 

Ellyn Davis
Program Manager
Manufacturing Extension Partnership – Capital Region
ellynd@ceg.org | 518.431.1489

Carlos Flores
Vice President, Business Development – Business Growth Solutions
Manufacturing Extension Partnership – Capital Region
carlosf@ceg.org | 518.431.1483 

Meredith O’Connell
Manager, Workforce Development
mereditho@ceg.org | 518.431.1486 

Katie Newcombe
Chief Economic Development Officer
katien@ceg.org | 518.431.1480 

James Schlett
Director, Research & Communications
jamess@ceg.org | 518.431.1488 

John Taylor
Director of Economic Development 
johnt@ceg.org | 518.431.1491 

Andrea Thompson
Director of Marketing, Talent & Business Attraction
andreat@ceg.org | 518.431.1482 

Lucy Totino
Manager, Grants & Contracts
lucyt@ceg.org | 518.431.1485 

Cristina Valentin
Manager, Marketing & Graphics 
cristinav@ceg.org | 518.431.1487 

Don Wiesenforth, M.B.A.
Senior Vice President, Business Growth Solutions
Director, Manufacturing Extension Partnership 
donw@ceg.org | 518.431.1481

Executive Board

  • Board Chair: Stephen Obermayer
    Chief Financial Officer, BBL Companies
  • President & CEO: Mark N. Eagan
    Center for Economic Growth
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Brian Sano
    Director, Customer & Community Engagement, National Grid
  • Immediate Past Chair: Dr. John Bennett
    President & CEO, CDPHP
  • David S. DeMarco
    President & CEO, Saratoga National Bank and Arrow Financial Corp.
  • Francis O’Rourke
    Market President, Key Bank

Leadership Board

Members of Executive Board serve on Leadership Board   

  • Brian A. Akley
    Sr. Business Development Manager, Gilbane Building Company
  • Thomas  L. Amell
    President & CEO, Pioneer Bank
  • Carm Basile
  • David M. Buicko
    Chief Executive Officer, Galesi Group
  • Steve Bulger
    County Administrator, Saratoga County
  • Dean Burns
    Executive Director, Commercial Banking, JPMorgan Chase
  • Philip Calderone
    CEO, Albany International Airport
  • Michael Castellana
    CEO, Broadview Federal Credit Union
  • Antonio Civitella
    President & CEO, Transfinder
  • Gerald Conway
    General Counsel, Plug Power
  • Ted DeConno
    Senior Vice President, Capital Region Group Leader, Community Bank
  • Chris Del Vecchio
    President & CEO, MVP Health Care
  • J. Tyler Desmond
    General Manager, Crowne Plaza Albany, The Desmond Hotel
  • Christopher Dowd
    President & CEO, Ballston Spa National Bank
  • John Eberle
    President & CEO, Community Foundation for the Greater Capital Region
  • Paul Fahey
    Vice President, Overit
  • Daniel Fariello
    President, Capital Bank
  • Patricia Fusco
    President, Fusco Personnel, Inc.
  • Jennifer Garvey
    New York Market Affairs Manager, Ørsted
  • Eileen Guarino
    President & COO, Guarino Industries, Inc.
  • Steven D. Hanks, M.D. 
    President and CEO, St. Peter’s Health Partners
  • James Harris, Jr.
    President & CEO, Janitronics
  • John S. Harris, Esq.
    Partner, Brown & Weinraub, PLLC
  • George R. Hearst, III
    Publisher, Times Union
  • Michael Hickey
    Vice President and Chief of Staff, Siena College
  • David Hollander
    Vice President, LeChase Construction Services
  • Scott Houghtaling
    Senior Vice President, Commercial Leader, Berkshire Bank
  • Robert Hull, Ph.D
    Vice President for Research, RPI
  • Daniel Hurteau
    Office Managing Partner, Nixon Peabody, LLP
  • Paul Kelly
    Chief Operating Officer, NY CREATES
  • Kesh Kesavadas, Ph.D
    Vice President for Research and Economic Development Executive Council, University at Albany
  • Ashley King
    Managing Director, Goldman Sachs Ayco
  • Hui Peng Koh
    General Manager, GlobalFoundries
  • Josh Kowalski
    VP, Sales & Business Development, Carver Companies
  • Joe Lodise
    General Manager, Rivers Casino & Resort Schenectady
  • Mary Malone McCarthy
    CEO, M3 Placement and Partnership
  • Dennis P. McKenna, MD
    President & CEO, Albany Med Health System
  • John McManus
    Managing Partner, Harris Beach, PLLC
  • Marlene McTigue
    Board Member, Albany County IDA
  • Paul A. Milton
    President & CEO, Ellis Medicine
  • Philip Morris
    CEO, Proctors
  • John J. Nigro
    President, Nigro Retail Properties
  • Kevin O’Connor
    CEO, Advance Albany County Alliance
  • Michael Paparian
    Senior VP, Middle Market Banking, Citizens Commercial Banking
  • Robert Pasinella
    President, Rensselaer County IDA
  • Charles Pinckney
    Regional President, M&T Bank
  • Kevin J. Quaranto
    Senior Leader, Highmark Blue Shield of Northeastern New York
  • Donald Ranck
    Vice President, Wells Fargo
  • Robert Schofield
    Co-Partner, Whiteman Osterman & Hanna
  • Thomas A. Selfridge
    President, Swagelok
  • Hon. Kathy Sheehan
    Mayor, City of Albany
  • Jim Siplon
    President & CEO, EDC, Warren County
  • Richard P. Sleasman, SIOR
    President & Managing Director, CBRE Upstate NY
  • Carl E. Stewart, III
    Executive Vice President, Turner Construction
  • Al Testa
    Senior Vice President & Commercial Executive, NBT Bank
  • Cricket Thomas-O’Dell
    Statewide Pre-Apprentice Program Coordinator / Director of Community Engagement, Workforce Development Institute
  • Walter Thorne
    Market President & Publisher, Albany Business Review
  • Toyin Tofade
    President, Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  • Michael J. Uccellini
    President, United Group of Companies
  • Deshanna Wiggins
    CEO, Albany Black Chamber of Commerce
  • Brian Williams
    Executive Director, Capital Region Workforce Development Board
  • Marie Zimmerman
    Partner, KPMG

Funding Partners